1

Qu'est-ce que l'automatisation des processus ? - Retour aux sources à travers le prisme de la gestion documentaire

L'automatisation est un mot à la mode depuis quelques années. Cependant, l'idée d'automatisation remonte à plusieurs décennies, voire à l'aube de l'ère industrielle. La prise de conscience du fait que les revenus et les bénéfices sont étroitement liés à la cohérence et à l'efficacité signifie que chaque fois que l'occasion se présente de faire les choses mieux, plus rapidement, à moindre coût et sans erreur, il faut la saisir à deux mains. En fait, les entreprises qui n'automatisent pas leurs activités se font dépasser sur leurs marchés à long terme.

L'adoption exponentielle de la technologie dans les entreprises a conduit à une diversité toujours plus grande des tâches qui peuvent être automatisées. Et avec elle vient la possibilité d'intégrer diverses automatisations au sein d'une entreprise en un tout unifié. Aujourd'hui, la disponibilité de l'IA a fait passer le jeu à un tout autre niveau, stimulant l'efficacité en supprimant les redondances dans des tâches même très complexes impliquant une prise de décision humaine.

Par conséquent, l'automatisation des processus est un terme qui a eu des significations différentes à différentes périodes de l'histoire. Pour démystifier ce qu'il signifie aujourd'hui, revenons à l'essentiel.

Qu'est-ce que l'automatisation des processus ?

L'automatisation des processus consiste à tirer parti de technologies facilement disponibles pour faciliter l'exécution de tâches répétitives et fastidieuses, réduisant ainsi le besoin d'intervention humaine tout en créant des systèmes de flux de travail flexibles. Comme son nom l'indique, un flux de travail est un ordre de tâches ou d'étapes utilisé pour exécuter des processus commerciaux à l'aide de protocoles prédéterminés.

Familiarisons-nous avec quelques termes couramment utilisés pour décrire l'automatisation des processus dans les entreprises.

● La gestion des processus d'affaires (BPM)

L'approche BPM consiste à évaluer l'entreprise dans son ensemble. Ce processus permet de réexaminer tous les processus de l'entreprise, d'analyser la croissance, d'optimiser le cas échéant et de définir une nouvelle voie pour améliorer l'efficacité, la souplesse de l'entreprise et la génération de revenus. Par essence, le BPM est une stratégie visant à utiliser des processus tant automatisés que manuels. Il se concentre principalement sur la modélisation des activités quotidiennes.

● L'automatisation des processus d'affaires (BPA)

Le BPA est essentiellement une transformation numérique des processus d'entreprise en systèmes plus simples et contrôlés à l'aide de solutions d'automatisation des flux de travail. Cette automatisation vise à établir des fonctions sans erreur, économiquement réalisables, ouvertes et rationalisées dans toute l'organisation, avec des rôles adaptables, efficaces et accessibles clairement définis. Le processus se concentre sur le remplacement des tâches manuelles par une approche d'automatisation sans erreur et sans faille.

● L'automatisation des processus robotiques

La RPA utilise des programmes robotiques sophistiqués et exclusifs pour automatiser les tâches de routine. La différence ici est que le BPA vise davantage à réaliser des codes instructifs, alors que la RPA vise à prendre ces mesures illustratives pour terminer les tâches. Ces robots imitent les actions humaines, comme répondre à des courriels, copier-coller, effectuer des tâches administratives générales, etc. en utilisant des interfaces utilisateur.

Discutons de l'automatisation des processus métier en particulier et de la manière dont un système de gestion documentaire robuste peut faciliter et améliorer son déploiement dans l'entreprise.

Automatisation des processus d'entreprise : Un bref aperçu

Il n'y a pas si longtemps, l'automatisation était une tâche herculéenne, nécessitant des systèmes centraux élaborés et une armée d'experts. Aujourd'hui, les entreprises de toutes tailles peuvent tirer parti des fonctionnalités des plateformes d'automatisation basées sur le cloud computing, ce qui simplifie et accélère le processus. Entre autres fonctions, l'automatisation des processus permet d'obtenir des informations précieuses sur l'activité de l'entreprise grâce à deux composantes : l'exploration des processus et l'automatisation des flux de travail.

Processus d'extraction

La méthodologie de l'exploration des processus consiste à appliquer la science des données pour découvrir, valider et améliorer les flux de travail. L'exploration des données et l'analyse des processus aident les organisations à découvrir les goulots d'étranglement et d'autres possibilités d'amélioration en comprenant leurs systèmes d'information. Néanmoins, l'exploration de processus est une discipline relativement nouvelle. Elle est encore confrontée à des défis tels que la qualité des données (données incomplètes et distribuées diluant la qualité lorsqu'elles atteignent leur destination) et la dérive des concepts (changement des processus au fur et à mesure de leur évaluation).

Automatisation du flux de travail

L'automatisation des flux de travail simplifie et optimise les opérations d'une entreprise. En général, on y parvient en coordonnant les interactions entre les parties prenantes et les systèmes d'information. Ce processus tente d'attribuer des tâches au bon employé au bon moment, de fournir des informations pertinentes et de pousser à l'avancement. En outre, il intègre diverses activités commerciales par le biais de la gestion des documents.

Automatisation des processus d'entreprise grâce à la gestion des documents

Les entreprises d'aujourd'hui ont besoin de systèmes flexibles et modernes pour suivre l'évolution du paysage technologique. L'un d'eux est le système de gestion des documents, qui joue un rôle central dans la plupart des entreprises en croissance. Nous avons établi que l'automatisation des processus est un élément clé des opérations commerciales modernes. Si tel est le cas, le système de gestion de documents est un bon point de départ pour la mise en œuvre de l'automatisation des processus - sans doute la base de toutes les automatisations de processus.

Tous les processus d'entreprise génèrent des documents, à la fois sur papier et sous forme numérique, pour coordonner et coopérer avec d'autres opérations commerciales. La gestion de la masse de documents générés encombre les fonctions, fait perdre du temps, nuit à l'efficacité et remet en question la satisfaction du client. Les systèmes de gestion de documents présentent quelques caractéristiques qui permettent l'automatisation des processus, comme indiqué ci-dessous.

● Capturer les données

La capture de données éparpillées dans de multiples types de documents, de canaux et de formats constitue un défi de plus en plus important dans les pratiques traditionnelles. Des courriels aux fichiers individuels, des papiers aux formulaires électroniques, du multimédia à pratiquement toute source d'information provenant de nombreux appareils, il en résulte des silos de données.

Permettre la capture multicanal dans un DMS serait un candidat idéal pour l'automatisation des processus. Cette approche permet d'accélérer le processus de capture de numérisation, d'indexation, d'organisation et d'extraction des données, et d'exportation des informations pour des cas d'utilisation spécifiques à une application. Les technologies de capture telles que l'OCR et le NLP associées à l'IA peuvent compléter les capacités de capture de documents existantes en étendant la capture au-delà du papier.

● L'intégration intégration avec les systèmes de flux de travail.

Un autre obstacle important à l'automatisation des processus est la dépendance à l'égard des systèmes informatiques existants. Il s'agit souvent d'achats coûteux à long terme qui sont encore plus coûteux à réviser. L'utilisation d'un système de gestion des documents est un moyen relativement peu coûteux de combler le fossé entre les systèmes existants et les mécanismes d'automatisation des processus les plus modernes.

Un SGD peut faciliter le flux d'informations entre les systèmes externes avec les processus standard, ce qui permet d'introduire l'automatisation des flux de travail dans votre entreprise. Les flux de travail automatisés peuvent rationaliser l'examen, l'approbation et l'archivage de ces documents en les acheminant vers des programmes tels que les CMS ou les ERP.

● Consolidation et duplication

L'une des fonctions essentielles de l'automatisation est sa fiabilité - c'est-à-dire qu'une fois en place, il y a généralement peu d'erreurs nécessitant un dépannage et une intervention humaine. Toutefois, cela dépend fortement de la source de données utilisée pour mettre en œuvre l'automatisation. Par conséquent, la déduplication et la consolidation des documents sont des composantes essentielles de l'automatisation des processus. La tendance à disperser les documents à plusieurs endroits est une recette pour le désastre, surtout s'il existe plus d'une version du même document. De plus, dans un flux de travail automatisé, les redondances pourraient s'accumuler de manière invisible.

Par exemple, lorsque vous créez un document clé, il y a de fortes chances que les employés aient besoin de réutiliser les données à des fins multiples, ce qui les amène à faire des copies. De plus, toute modification apportée à l'une des copies peut ne pas être mise à jour dans l'original - celui qui est critique pour les systèmes d'automatisation conçus autour de lui.

Avec un SGD efficace, ce processus de mise à jour de ces informations peut être centralisé et automatisé. En outre, l'aide apportée à cette approche par un stockage basé sur le contexte et la pertinence peut permettre d'éliminer les redondances. La logique qui sous-tend cette approche est que lorsque les données sont cartographiées, stockées et consultées dynamiquement par entité, cela facilite une meilleure catégorisation, éliminant ainsi les doublons au sein de l'organisation.

● Recherche et récupération

Rechercher et récupérer manuellement un document dans une pile est aujourd'hui inimaginable. Avec indexation et recherche en texte intégralles employés peuvent accéder aux informations à partir d'un référentiel central, sans perdre de temps à localiser les informations. Cette automatisation est rendue encore plus efficace grâce à des fonctions telles que l'enregistrement automatique de l'historique de recherche des documents et de leurs métadonnées à l'aide de différents mots et expressions. Grâce aux métadonnées, les utilisateurs peuvent naviguer ou pivoter dans de grands ensembles de résultats. Et il est également possible d'enregistrer, de partager, de trier et de filtrer les résultats de recherche.

En outre, cela augmente également le nombre de façons dont une fonction de consultation peut être utilisée de manière fiable dans une variété d'automatismes de processus.

● Contrôle d'accès et collaboration

Il est presque impossible de restreindre l'accès aux documents physiques sans verrou et sans clé. Même s'ils sont conservés dans un coffre-fort, ils sont toujours sujets à des vulnérabilités, tant du point de vue de la sécurité que du stockage physique. En revanche, un SGD peut garantir la sécurité au niveau de la base de données et permettre la collaboration.

Un SGD peut être utilisé pour déclencher des contrôles d'accès automatisés qui permettent d'identifier une autorisation basée sur le rôle ou le cas d'utilisation. Par exemple, si une facture doit être consultée, il faut immédiatement demander un code d'instruction identifiant la personne qui demande ce fichier. En ce sens, ils agissent également comme un signal pour le bon fonctionnement des processus, réduisant les menaces pour la sécurité tout en améliorant les inefficacités administratives.

● Conformité réglementaire

Les obligations de conformité constituent un autre défi majeur pour la gestion traditionnelle des documents. Il s'agit d'un processus très fastidieux ; tout incident peut exposer des données sensibles au monde entier, provoquant des sécurité des données violations. Une grande entreprise ayant de multiples clients et plusieurs intermédiaires peut être confrontée à un énorme problème de perte de temps en matière de conformité réglementaire.

En revanche, une GED ne permettra pas de modifier un document dans le système sans le soumettre à nouveau. Par conséquent, dans ce cas, l'automatisation des processus pourrait être utilisée pour permettre le suivi des clients existants, évitant ainsi de lourdes amendes pour non-conformité. En procédant ainsi, une piste d'audit est générée automatiquement, et aucune question d'authenticité ne peut se poser. Ce processus génère également des journaux détaillés, ce qui permet d'avoir des exportations d'administrateurs et des dossiers d'inspection propres.

● Formulaires électroniques

Alors que traitement des demandes et des formulaires est souvent considéré comme une tâche de back-office, une saisie, une récupération et une gestion plus précises des données permettent de réaliser de nombreux gains d'efficacité, directement et indirectement. Les formulaires électroniques permettent non seulement d'éviter les erreurs humaines en fin de processus, mais aussi de garantir l'exactitude des soumissions grâce à la validation des données et aux suggestions de remplissage automatique. En outre, les informations contenues dans les formulaires peuvent être reconnues, classées et indexées intelligemment. Par exemple, une entrée de formulaire commençant par un certain ensemble d'alphabets en majuscules et par un nombre spécifique de caractères peut être automatiquement reconnue et classée comme un code produit, une facture ou un numéro d'identification quelconque.

Dans ce cas, un SGD doté d'un moteur de règles commerciales intégré peut déclencher automatiquement des flux de travail automatisés en aval. Les données peuvent alors être capturées, extraites et exploitées automatiquement et peuvent être partagées entre des ensembles de données distants et des systèmes intégrés pour une meilleure collaboration entre les flux de travail.

Automatiser avant qu'il ne soit trop tard

Process automation using a document management system can help increase productivity, create business value, generate insights, and help identify the areas that need more focus to generate revenue. You no longer have to wait for your legacy systems to pass their sell-by date. In fact, automation with a document management system is certain to extend the life of your investments, while keeping your costs low – all the while enhancing your flexibility to adapt to the rapidly advancing technologies of the future. Therefore a document management system like Tessi Docubase® is a compelling investment to make. Book your demo today.

1

Écrit par Ricardo RengifoDBS Software & Services

dbs Software & Services (dbs) is a long-standing provider of document management and process automation solutions for education and business, and the exclusive provider of Tessi Docubase® in North America.

Tessi Docubase® is an enterprise-grade modular, secure, and easy-to-use document management system that seamlessly integrates with Business Information Systems. Its secure architecture and a broad range of features make it the perfect solution for a wide range of enterprises and use cases.

dbs LiveFormsest une plate-forme d'automatisation des processus d'entreprise ( low-code ). Son seul objectif est de simplifier les processus complexes en automatisant les étapes répétitives - de la capture des données aux alertes, notifications, confirmations par e-mail, et tout ce qui se trouve entre les deux - rapidement, sans impliquer un programmeur.

dbs eSign est une solution de signature électronique basée sur le cloud qui permet aux utilisateurs de gérer le processus de signature d'un document, du téléchargement à la signature et au scellement, depuis n'importe quel appareil mobile ou ordinateur.

What is process automation? – Back to basics through the document management lens

Automation has been quite the buzzword over the last few years. However, the idea of automation can be traced back decades, and perhaps even as far back as the dawn of the industrial age. The realization that revenue and profits are closely linked to consistency and efficiency has meant that whenever the opportunity arises to get things done better, faster, cheaper, and error-free – it must be grabbed with both hands. In fact, businesses that don’t automate get bested in their markets over the long run.

The exponential adoption of technology in business has led to an ever-increasing diversity of tasks that can be automated. And with it comes the opportunity to integrate various automations within an enterprise into a unified whole. Today, the availability of AI has taken the game to a whole new level, boosting efficiency by removing redundancies in even highly complex tasks involving human decision-making.

Therefore, process automation is a term that has meant different things at different periods in history. To demystify what it means today, let’s get back to the basics.

What is process automation?

Process automation encompasses leveraging readily available technologies to facilitate the execution of time-consuming and repetitive tasks – thus, reducing the need for human intervention while creating flexible workflow systems. As the name implies, a workflow is an order of tasks or steps used to carry out business processes using pre-determined protocols.

Let’s familiarize ourselves with a few terms commonly used to describe process automation in businesses.

●     Business process management (BPM)

BPM approach entails assessing the business as a whole. The process helps to revisit all the processes across the business, analyze the growth, optimize where required, and set a new path for improved efficiencies, business agility, and revenue generation. In essence, BPM is a strategy to use both automated and manual processes. It focuses mainly on modeling day-to-day activities.

●     Business process automation (BPA)

BPA is essentially a digital transformation of business processes into simpler and controlled systems using workflow automation solutions. This automation aims to establish error-free, economically feasible, open, and streamlined functions across the organization with clearly defined adaptable, efficient, and accessible roles. The process focuses on replacing manual tasks with an error-free, and seamless automation approach.

●     Robotic process automation

RPA utilizes sophisticated and exclusive robotic programs to automate routine tasks. The difference here is that BPA is more about achieving instructive codes, but RPA is about taking those illustrative steps in finishing the tasks. These robots mimic human actions, like responding to emails, copy-pasting, general administrative tasks, and more by using user interfaces.

Let’s discuss business process automation in particular and how a robust document management system can facilitate and enhance its deployment across the enterprise.

Business Process Automation: A brief overview

Automation was a herculean task not too many years ago, requiring elaborate mainframe systems and an army of experts. In the present day companies of all sizes can leverage the functionality of cloud-based automation platforms, making the process simpler and faster. Among other functions, process automation delivers valuable business insights through two components – process mining and workflow automation.

Process mining

The methodology of process mining involves applying data science to uncover, validate, and improve workflows. Data mining and process analytics help organizations uncover bottlenecks and other improvement opportunities by comprehending their information systems. Nonetheless, process mining is a relatively new discipline. It still faces challenges like data quality (incomplete and distributed data diluting the quality as it reaches the destination) and concept drift (change in processes as they are evaluated).

Workflow automation

Workflow automation simplifies and optimizes a company’s operations. Generally, this is achieved by coordinating interactions between stakeholders and information systems. This process attempts to assign tasks to the right employee at the right time, provide relevant information, and push for progress. Additionally, it incorporates various business activities through document management.

Business Process Automation with Document Management

Today’s businesses need flexible and modern systems to keep pace with the changing technological landscape. One of these is document management systems which play a central role in most growing enterprises, and we have established that process automation is a key component of modern business operations. That being the case, then the document management system is a good place to start when looking to implement process automation – arguably the foundation of all process automations.

All business processes generate documents, both paper, and digital trails, to coordinate and cooperate with other business operations. Keeping up with heaps of documents generated clogs up functions, consumes time, distracts the efficiency, and challenges customer satisfaction. There are a few features of document management systems that enable process automation, as discussed below.

●     Capturing data

Capturing scattered data across multiple kinds of documents, channels, and formats is an ever-growing challenge with traditional practices. From emails to individual files, papers to e-forms, multimedia to virtually any source of information from numerous devices results in data silos.

Enabling multichannel capturing in a DMS would be a suitable process automation candidate. This approach helps to expedite the capture process of scanning, indexing, organizing and extracting data, and exporting information for application-specific use cases. Capture technologies like OCR and NLP coupled with AI can complement existing document capturing capabilities by extending the capture beyond paper.

●     Integrating with workflow systems

Another significant roadblock to process automation is the dependence on legacy IT systems. These are often expensive long-term purchases that are even more expensive to overhaul. Leveraging a document management system is a relatively inexpensive way to bridge the gap between existing legacy systems and state-of-the-art process automation mechanisms.

A DMS can facilitate the flow of information across external systems with the standard processes, resulting in the opportunity to introduce workflow automation to your enterprise. Automated workflows can streamline the review, approval, and archiving of these documents by routing them to programs like CMSs or ERPs.

●     Consolidation & duplication

One of the core functions of automation is its reliability – i.e. once in place there are usually few errors requiring troubleshooting and human intervention. However, this is heavily dependent on the source of data used to implement the automation. Therefore, de-duplication and consolidation of documents are essential components of process automation. The tendency for documents to be scattered across several locations is a recipe for disaster, especially if more than one version of the same document exists. Moreover, in an automated workflow, redundancies could compound invisibly.

For instance, when you create a key document, chances are employees may need to reuse the data for multiple purposes resulting in them making copies. Further, any changes made in one of the copies may not be updated in the original – the one that is critical to automation systems designed around it.

With an effective DMS, this process of updating such information can be centralized and automated. Additionally, helping the approach with context and relevance-based storage can result in eliminating redundancy. The logic behind this approach is that when data is mapped, stored, and dynamically looked up entity-wise, it facilitates a better categorization, thereby eliminating duplication across the organization.

●     Search & retrieval

Searching and retrieving a document from a pile manually is unimaginable today. With full-text indexing and search, employees can access information from the central repository, with no productivity lost to locating information. This automation is made even more efficient with features like auto-saving the search history of documents and their metadata using different words and phrases. Using metadata, users can navigate or pivot through large results sets. And It is also possible to save, share, sort, and filter search results.

Furthermore, this also increases the number of ways in which a look-up function can be reliably used in a variety of process automations.

●     Access control & collaboration

Restricting access to physical documents is nearly impossible, without a lock and key. How much ever they are kept in a safe, they still are prone to vulnerabilities both from a security and a physical storage standpoint. On the other hand, a DMS can ensure database-level security and enable collaboration

A DMS can be used to trigger automated access controls which allow identifying a role-based or use-case-based authorization. For example, if an invoice needs to be accessed, it immediately calls for an instructed code identifying who is requesting that file. In that sense, they also act as a signal for the smooth functioning of processes reducing security threats while improving administrative inefficiencies.

●     Regulatory compliance

Compliance obligations pose another major challenge to traditional document management. It is a very tedious process; any mishap could expose sensitive data to the world, causing data security breaches. A large corporation with multiple clients and several intermediaries can face a huge time-sapping challenge with regulatory compliance.

In contrast, a DMS will not allow a document to be modified in the system without resubmission. Therefore, in this case, process automation could be used to allow monitoring of existing clients, thus, preventing hefty fines for non-compliance. By doing this, an audit trail is generated automatically, and no question of authenticity can arise. This process would also generate extensive logs, making for clean administrator exports and inspection records.

●     Electronic forms

While application and form processing is often viewed as a back-office task, more accurate capturing, retrieval, and management of the data leads to numerous efficiencies directly and indirectly. Electronic forms not only prevent human error at the back end but also ensure the accuracy of submissions with data validation and auto-fill suggestions. Further, the information within forms can be recognized, categorized, and indexed intelligently. For example, a form entry beginning with a certain set of capitalized alphabets and with a specific number of characters can be automatically recognized and classified as a product code or an invoice, or an identification number of some kind.

In this case, a DMS with an inbuilt business rules engine can trigger automated workflows downstream automatically. The data could then be captured, extracted, and mined automatically and can be shared between remote datasets and integrated systems for better workflow collaboration.

Automate before it’s too late

Process automation using a document management system can help increase productivity, create business value, generate insights, and help identify the areas that need more focus to generate revenue. You no longer have to wait for your legacy systems to pass their sell-by date. In fact, automation with a document management system is certain to extend the life of your investments, while keeping your costs low – all the while enhancing your flexibility to adapt to the rapidly advancing technologies of the future. Therefore a document management system like Tessi Docubase is a compelling investment to make. Book your demo today.

Written by Ricardo Rengifo, DBS Software & Services

dbs Software & Services (dbs) is a long-standing provider of document management and process automation solutions for education and business, and the exclusive provider of Tessi Docubase in North America.

Tessi Docubase is an enterprise-grade modular, secure, and easy-to-use document management system that seamlessly integrates with Business Information Systems. Its secure architecture and a broad range of features make it the perfect solution for a wide range of enterprises and use cases.

dbs LiveForms, is a low-code Business Process Automation platform. Its sole focus is simplifying complex processes by automating repetitive steps – from data capture to alerts, notifications, email confirmations, and everything in between quickly, without involving a programmer.

dbs eSign is a cloud-based electronic signature solution that allows users to manage the signing process for a document, from upload to signing and sealing, from any mobile device or computer.